Menu
9780811220316 198

Time of Useful Consciousness

Hardcover

Our Retail Price:£16.99

Add to Basket

Description

Lawrence Ferlinghetti's first book since Poetry as Insurgent Art, a new call to action and a vivid picture of civilization moving towards its brink.

New Directions is proud to announce a riveting and galvanizing new book by Lawrence Ferlinghetti. At ninety-three, he shows more power than most any other poet at work today. Ferlinghetti describes his new book, Time of Useful Consciousness, as “a fragmented recording of the American stream-of-consciousness, always westward streaming; a people’s poetic history in the tradition of William Carlos Williams’ Paterson, Charles Olson’s Maximus, Allen Ginsberg’s Fall of America, and Ed Sanders’ America: a History in Verse. ‘Time of Useful Consciousness, is an aeronautical term denoting the time between when one loses oxygen and when one passes out, the brief time in which some life-saving action is possible.”Ferlinghetti’s first book since Poetry as Insurgent Art, the fierce and immediate Time of Useful Consciousness presents poetry written “in ways that those who see poetry as the province of the few and educated had never imagined” (The New York Times Book Review).

Reviews

“His poems burn through modern America’s absurdities and unrepentant historical revision in a glorious rant against mediocrity, greed, capitalism and boring poetry.” — Publishers Weekly

“Lawrence Ferlinghetti is a national treasure and the kind of poet laureate we really deserve.” — CounterPunch

“In the spirit of Whitman, [Ferlinghetti] unwinds a country in all its speed and vibrancy.” — San Francisco Chronicle

“Lawrence Ferlinghetti’s engrossing new work, Time of Useful Consciousness, is an ode to modern American myth. At ninety-two, Ferlinghetti has rhythm, he has vision, and he captures the magic energy of Jack Kerouac.” — The Coffin Factory

Time of Useful Consciousness is a fresh missive from an elderly Beat who has always refused to sit down.” — Truthdig

“Ferlinghetti refers to Ginsberg as 'the Whitman of our age,' but Time of Useful Consciousness has that epic, galvanizing, country-hopping voice of a latter-day Good Gray as Ferlinghetti recreates the pioneer spirit of racing west for gold, for freedom, for art, for land, for the hell of it, for life—as well as all the messy stops along the way.” — Christopher Bollen, Interview Magazine

Also By: Lawrence Ferlinghetti View all by author...

  • 9780811200417 72

    A Coney Island of the Mind: Poems

    Lawrence Ferlinghetti

    Paperback, 1968

    Ferlinghetti’s A Coney Island of the Mind has become a modern classic. It has been translated into nine languages and there are now three-quarters of a million copies in print.
  • The Secret Meaning of Things: Poetry

    Lawrence Ferlinghetti

    Paperback, 1968

    The Secret Meaning of Things is Lawrence Ferlinghetti’s fourth book of poems.
  • 9780811200424 72

    Her

    Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Vincent McHugh

    Paperback, 1960

    "A surreal semi-autobiographical blackbook record of a semi-mad period of my life, in that mindless, timeless state most romantics pass through, confusing flesh madonnas with spiritual ones." This...
  • 9781631495946 72

    Writing Across the Landscape: Travel Journals 1950-2013

    Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Giada Diano, Matthew Gleeson

    Paperback, 2019

    Motorcycle Diaries for a new generation, this long-awaited volume provides a panoramic portrait of art and life across the twentieth century.
  • 9780811227124 72

    Ferlinghetti's Greatest Poems

    Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Nancy Peters

    Hardcover, 2017

    At last, a compact, powerful overview of one of America’s most beloved and radical poets—spanning more than six decades of work