Physics for Engineers and Scientists

Regular Third Edition


Hans C. Ohanian (Author), John T. Markert (Author)

Our Retail Price:£111.99

Add to BasketRequest Inspection Copy


Designed for the introductory calculus-based physics course, Physics for Engineers and Scientists is distinguished by its lucid exposition and accessible coverage of fundamental physical concepts.

The text presents a modern view of classical mechanics and electromagnetism for today's science and engineering students, including coverage of optics and quantum physics and emphasizing the relationship between macroscopic and microscopic phenomena.  

Organized to address specific concepts and then build on them, this highly readable text divides each chapter into short, focused sections followed by review questions. Using real-world examples, the authors offer a glimpse of the practical applications of physics in science and engineering, developing a solid conceptual foundation before introducing mathematical results and derivations (a basic knowledge of derivatives and integrals is assumed).

Also By: Hans C. Ohanian View all by author...

  • 9780393337686 72

    Einstein's Mistakes: The Human Failings of Genius

    Hans C. Ohanian

    Paperback, 2010

    “A thought-provoking critique of Einstein’s tantalizing combination of brilliance and blunder.”—Andrew Robinson, New Scientist
  • 9780393965018 72

    Gravitation and Spacetime

    Hans C. Ohanian, Remo Ruffini

    Second Edition, Hardcover, 1994

    A remarkable book has just been made even better.
  • Solutions Manual: for Principles of Physics

    Hans C. Ohanian

    Paperback, 1994

    The Solutions Manual contains worked solutions to all the end-of-chapter review problems.
  • 9780393957730 72

    Principles of Physics

    Hans C. Ohanian

    Paperback, 1994

    Principles of Physics is a textbook for a one year algebra-based introduction physics course. The book is intended for students in the life sciences, the premedical curriculum, the earth and...
  • Physics Vol. 1

    Hans C. Ohanian

    Paperback, 1989