9780393951912 198

Classical Music

The Era of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven


Our Retail Price:£61.00

Add to BasketRequest Inspection Copy


In this, the fourth volume in the Norton Introduction to Music History series, Philip Downs traces the rise and decline of the "Classical" style from the birth of Haydn (1732) to the death of Beethoven (1827).

He demonstrates the enormous diversity and constant change that characterized every aspect of music during this period.  By dividing his text into twenty-year spans, Downs is able to trace the development of musical style.  Within each span he looks at the social conditions and daily life of the musician, and the aesthetics and audience preferences in structures, performing combinations and styles.  The lesser composers, or Kleinmeister, are observed, since they are the most accurate mirrors of their times.  Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven receive full biographical scrutiny at each stage of their development.  Copious music examples and abundant illustrations are also provided.

Also By: Philip G. Downs View all by author...

  • 9780393952094 72

    Anthology of Classical Music

    Philip G. Downs

    Paperback, 1993

    For this carefully selected anthology, the author of Classical Music has chosen representative works from the eighteenth and early-nineteenth centuries. All seventy-six selections--complete pieces,...