Menu
9780393608403 198

Storyville!

An Illustrated Guide to Writing Fiction

Hardcover

John Dufresne (Author), Evan Wondolowski (Illustrated by)

Our Retail Price:£16.99

Add to Basket

Description

A smart and funny guide to writing fiction with lively infographics to help aspiring writers visualise storytelling techniques.

Whether you are daunted by a blinking cursor or frustrated trying to get the people in your head onto the page, writing stories can be intimidating. It takes passion, tenacity, patience and a knowledge of—and faith in—the writing process. A manual for the apprentice fiction writer, Storyville! demystifies that process; its bold graphics take you inside the writer’s mind and show you how stories are made.

John Dufresne provides insight into the building blocks of fiction. With original prompts and exercises crafted with Dufresne’s singular dry wit, and Evan Wondolowski’s playful and illuminating graphics on every page, Storyville! is the perfect companion for aspiring writers of all levels.

Also By: John Dufresne View all by author...

  • 9780393352351 72

    FLASH!: Writing the Very Short Story

    John Dufresne

    Paperback, 2018

    An engaging and frank guide to writing the very short story, full of sound advice, exemplary models and provocative exercises.
  • 9780393348927 72

    No Regrets, Coyote: A Novel

    John Dufresne

    Paperback, 2014

    “A very cool ride. If Raymond Chandler was reincarnated as a novelist in South Florida, he couldn’t nail it any better than Dufresne.”—Carl Hiaasen
  • 9780393070538 72

    No Regrets, Coyote: A Novel

    John Dufresne

    Hardcover, 2013

    For readers of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane, a South Florida noir from the best-selling author of Louisiana Power & Light.
  • 9780393330526 72

    Louisiana Power & Light

    John Dufresne

    Paperback, 2013

    A favorite novel by “a generous and lyric storyteller” (San Francisco Chronicle) known for his tragicomic voice and unforgettable characters.
  • 9780393331141 72

    Deep in the Shade of Paradise: A Novel

    John Dufresne

    Paperback, 2013

    "A comic opera…tuneful, playful." —New York Times Book Review