Menu
9780393342338 198

The Land at the End of the World

A Novel

Paperback

Our Retail Price:£12.99

Add to Basket

Description

"Brilliant…harrowing…Packs the impact of an exploding mortar shell." —Kai Maristed, Los Angeles Times

In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel García Márquez, one of the twentieth century’s most original literary voices offers "kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa" (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the World—in an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costa—recounts the anguished tale of a Portuguese medic haunted by memories of war. Like the Ancient Mariner who will tell his tale to anyone who listens, the narrator’s evening unfolds like a fever dream that is both tragic and haunting. The result is one of the great war novels of the modern age.

Reviews

“[Antunes] has created a memorably unhinged narrator, and [Costa] manages to capture, perfectly and faithfully, the bitter, hallucinatory and increasingly desperate tone of his monologue.” — Larry Rohter, New York Times

“Lobo Antunes crafts macabre fever dreams as if possessed by an abler Poe, and few other novelists have his Bellovian ability to see both deeply and minutely, to render the world, the fallen world, as if never rendered before.” — William Giraldi, Daily Beast

“Read António Lobo Antunes' The Land at the End of the World, and you, like the protagonist, may never forget the hallucinatory depravity, degradation and corruption of an unjust war.” — Kai Maristed, Los Angeles Times

“Magnificent prose, dense with striking and unexpected imagery…I was so seized by the novel's spirit that I was motivated to turn to my own. I wanted to imitate Lobo Antunes, and I failed.” — Viet Thanh Nguyen, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sympathizer

Also By: António Lobo Antunes View all by author...

Also By: Margaret Jull Costa View all by author...

  • 9781631495984 72

    Machado de Assis: 26 Stories

    Joaquim Maria Machado de Assis, Margaret Jull Costa, Robin Patterson, Michael Wood

    Paperback, 2019

    This “watershed collection” (The Wall Street Journal) now appears in a selected paperback edition with twenty-six of Machado’s finest stories.
  • Mac's Problem

    Enrique Vila-Matas, Margaret Jull Costa, Sophie Hughes

    Paperback, 2019

    Enrique Vila-Matas’s new novel is perhaps his greatest: “playful and funny and among the best Spanish novelists” (Colm Tóibín)
  • What's in a Name

    Ana Luísa Amaral, Margaret Jull Costa

    Paperback, 2019

    Poems of effervescent grace from one of the best-known and best-loved poets of Portugal
  • 9780871404961 72

    The Collected Stories of Machado de Assis

    Joaquim Maria Machado de Assis, Margaret Jull Costa, Robin Patterson, Michael Wood

    Hardcover, 2018

    A landmark event, the complete stories of Machado de Assis appear in English for the first time in this extraordinary new translation.
  • 9780811226936 72

    The Book of Disquiet: The Complete Edition

    Fernando Pessoa, Jerónimo Pizarro, Margaret Jull Costa

    Hardcover, 2017

    For the first time—and in the best translation ever—the complete Book of Disquiet, a masterpiece beyond comparison