9780393058000 198

The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes

The Novels

Slipcased Edition



Our Retail Price:£45.00

Add to Basket


The four classic novels of Sherlock Holmes, heavily illustrated and annotated with extensive scholarly commentary, in an attractive and elegant slipcase.

The publication of Leslie S. Klinger's brilliant new annotations of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's four classic Holmes novels in 2005 created a Holmes sensation. Klinger reassembles Doyle's four seminal novels in their original order, with over 1,000 notes, 350 illustrations and period photographs, and tantalizing new Sherlockian theories. Inside, readers will find:
  • A Study in Scarlet (1887)—a tale of murder and revenge that tells of Holmes and Dr. Watson's first meeting;
  • The Sign of Four (1889)—a chilling tale of lost treasure...and of how Watson met his wife;
  • The Hound of the Baskervilles (1901)—hailed as the greatest mystery novel of all time; and
  • The Valley of Fear (1914)—a fresh murder scene that leads Holmes to solve a long-forgotten mystery.

Whether as a stand-alone volume or as a companion to the short stories, this classic work illuminates the timeless genius of Conan Doyle for an entirely new generation.


“A beautiful and thoroughly enjoyable edition...will appeal to first time readers and seasoned veterans.” — Daniel Stashower, Washington Post Book World

“A generous work, scholarly yet utterly accessible, a remarkable showcase of the detective's continuing allure.” — David L. Ulin, Los Angeles Times

“A must-have for any serious mystery fan, this edition will stand as the benchmark for generations to come.” — Publishers Weekly

“A vast work of entertaining ingenuity and erudition.” — Boston Globe

“Even the sleuth of Baker Street would be awed by the ingenious deductions and dazzling speculations of modern Sherlockian scholarship.” — Michael Dirda

“Hailed as the definitive exegesis of Holmes and his times.” — Mark Weingarten, The New York Times

“A feast for any fans of the greatest detective who ever stalked the earth.” — Maureen Corrigan, Fresh Air


Winner — Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award, 2005

Also By: Leslie S. Klinger View all by author...